Saturday, May 29, 2010

LIGHT YOURSELF ON FIRE - new songs + INSIDE OUT (!) cover

Just posted this on our twitter account but figured it was appropriate here too:

LIGHT YOURSELF ON FIRE (who we released a tape for a few years back) have posted 3 new songs online for free download, plus an INSIDE OUT (!) cover if you scroll down a bit:

Also semi-related is the old OMEGA MAN discography we posted a while back that LYOF features members of. Words.

Friday, May 21, 2010

MALADY - Demos

We were supposed to release the second MALADY album, but mid-way through the writing process Chris Taylor quit since he felt the band hadn't considered his vocals when writing the new songs. Not long after, the remaining members kicked out Johnny Ward since his drinking was getting in the way of his drumming (and general life functionality). I don't really know the full story, so definitely take all that with a grain of salt... that's just what I was told at the time.

What I do know is that what was supposed to become the sophomore MALADY album shapeshifted into the VERSE EN COMA ep, which ended up being a financial disaster since we spent a ton on the recording and it was only really 5 songs that just didn't sell all that well. The band never performed live under that name or lineup, and I don't even know if VERSE EN COMA vocalist Brian Markham (who went on to form ANCIENT SKY) ever even met everyone in the band... kind of a weird situation. Oh well.

What I'm posting here are two sets of MALADY demos. The first of which is a *super* early practice tape that I dubbed off Nathan from CRESTFALLEN when Chris Taylor played it for both of us on Nathan's boombox in Richmond one afternoon. I dunno that anyone really knew I was copying it, but if I hadn't this probably wouldn't now publicly exist since this was just for the band members to learn/rehearse the songs to. You can tell Chris' vocals are kinda temporary in a few spots, so take all that for what it's worth. Three songs (that all ended up on the album in the end) all on one MP3 file, since that's how I ripped it a million years ago.

The second set of demos is kinda late-MALADY, proto-VERSE EN COMA era. I think this is the stuff they gave to Chris which he wasn't too happy with. I'm not sure, but there's no vocals on these. I think these all have Johnny on drums still, sounding a little rough. Cool to hear, but yeah you can tell the band is sorta unraveling with this stuff. Best to jam the "self titled" MALADY album and the VERSE EN COMA "Rialto" EP, which coincidentally we still have a pile of.

* download MALADY - Demos (via MediaFire)
* download MALADY - Demos (via RapidShare)
* download MALADY - Demos (via SendSpace)

Again, raw/rough demos so don't expect studio-quality stuff exactly. A lot of what these guys have released over the years is now out of print, but if you want some physical products that these guys have put out, try the following:

* PG.99 stuff in the Robotic Empire - Online Store
* PYGMY LUSH stuff in the Robotic Empire - Online Store
* VERSE EN COMA stuff in the Robotic Empire - Online Store

Three obscurities (download) posts of Virginia bands in a row, with plenty more for down the road at some point. Lots to compile from all different eras of these dudes bands, so while it'll probably be a while, hopefully they'll be worth the wait.

Friday, May 7, 2010

GODS & QUEENS - New EP streaming + lyrics posted

Jamie Getz has unfortunately been a part of my life for years, not only as a smartass friend, but also providing the soundtrack for many workdays. Robotic Empire's stupidly done two releases with him, the shortlived trainwreck known as VERSOMA and the somehow-functional mess known as GODS & QUEENS.

With too many personal changes going on and the label really busy as of late, GODS & QUEENS found another home for their latest recordings, fortunately in the hands of our Italian friends Sons of Vesta... who got duped into releasing G&Q's latest 5-song EP. I personally love this release, been addicted to it since hearing the rough mixes and want everyone to check out the record streaming in its entirety for free right here.

In a classic fashion (like last time), Jamie emailed me the lyrics for the release in one large sloppy mess of a paragraph. It was almost indecipherable, so I chopped it up by song the best I could. For documentation purposes, here they are:

5 years ago and i'm still left guessing what would have happened if i wasn't depressed, and would you still be obsessing about all the bad things you've done? i've heard all about the weight you can't lift. i've heard all about how you're getting thin. i still remember the first time we met, the alcoholism, and your drug addled mess. but before we go and cut this off again...

i'm sorry that your family died. you expected this would take some time. you can't get yourself out of bed with all these childhood thoughts stuck in your head. so, i don't wanna know how you're doing, and i don't wanna hear about how you've been. you didn't know that her heart keeps beating, because machines kept her breathing.
i just wanna know how you're doing, i just wanna hear about how you've been. are you scared, and sick of being told that "it's alright", and "it's ok".

pacing around the house, hoping to find something new. turned the heat on, turned the heat off, even double checked the phone. it's like everything is happening someplace else. up and down the same 5 steps... there's nothing new. doesn't everything sound great when you're falling apart?

you said "you caught me, and it's a bad time", well, when do you thinks the best time i can call you back?

did you know i was married once just for fun? or that i almost died once? it was from drugs. please stop trying to reach me, please just leave me alone. you've been talking for hours, on your own. please stop trying to reach me, please just leave me alone.

That's it. Buy the EP from Sons of Vesta, or buy GODS & QUEENS crap from us too. :)